Edge Rewrite
// HTMLRewriter · presentation

This page was redesigned at the edge.

Cloudflare fetched the original article and streamed it through HTMLRewriter to apply an entirely new visual system without rebuilding the source page.

// request.cf · coarse context

A page that knows where it met you.

Only coarse request metadata is shown. This demo does not display or persist visitor IP addresses.

Country
US
Cloudflare location
CMH
Connection
HTTP/2
Language
Not provided

Ray ID: a44d161e2b3f5645

Jump to content

Talk:Ascensus

Page contents not supported in other languages.
Add topic
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Latest comment: 8 days ago by HemlockHiker in topic History and ownership section


Edit request

[edit]

— Preceding unsigned comment added by Nfoxson (talk • contribs) 20:06, 19 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

Reply 19-FEB-2020

[edit]

  Unable to review  

  • Your edit request could not be reviewed because the provided references are not formatted correctly. The citation style predominantly used by the Ascensus article is Citation Style 1 (CS1). The citation style used in the edit request consists of bare URL's.[a] Any requested edit of yours which may be implemented will need to resemble the current style already in use in the article – in this case, CS1. (See WP:CITEVAR.) In the extended section below titled Citation style, I have illustrated two examples: one showing how the edit request was submitted, and another showing how requests should be submitted in the future:
  • Kindly resubmit the edit request below at your earliest convenience, taking care to ensure that it makes use of CS1. If you have any questions about this formatting please don't hesitate to ask myself or another editor. Regards,  Spintendo  02:46, 20 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

Notes

  1. ↑ The use of bare URLs as references is a style which is acceptable for use in Wikipedia. However, general practice dictates that the style already in use for an article be the one that is subsequently used for all future additions unless changed by editorial consensus.[1]

References

  1. ↑ "WP:CITEVAR - Wikipedia:Citing sources". Wikipedia. 20 October 2018. Retrieved 22 October 2018. Guideline: It is normal practice to defer to the style used by the first major contributor or adopted by the consensus of editors already working on the page, unless a change in consensus has been achieved. If the article you are editing is already using a particular citation style, you should follow it.

Ascensus

[edit]

Nfoxson (talk) 21:03, 20 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

Reply 20-FEB-2020

[edit]

  Unable to review  

  • Thank you for correcting the reference formatting, it is much appreciated.
  • Unfortunately, because your request contains text which is to be substituted for text which already exists in the article, your request still cannot be reviewed as it does not state the verbatim text that is to act as the substitution along with the verbatim text that is to be removed.[1][a]
  • Additionally, reasons have not been provided for these substitutions.[2]
  • An example for how these three items are to be incorporated into a request are shown in a sample edit request below:
  • Kindly reformulate your request to include the missing information, and feel free to re-submit that edit request below this post at your earliest convenience. (Please ensure that this post and other previous posts are not removed during your re-submission.)

Regards,  Spintendo  00:27, 21 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

References

  1. ↑ "Template:Request edit". Wikipedia. 30 December 2019. Instructions for Submitters: Describe the requested changes in detail. This includes the exact proposed wording of the new material, the exact proposed location for it, and an explicit description of any wording to be removed, including removal for any substitution.
  2. ↑ "Template:Request edit". Wikipedia. 30 December 2019. Instructions for Submitters: If the rationale for a change is not obvious (particularly for proposed deletions), explain.

Notes

  1. ↑ A wholesale substitution is believed to be what has been requested here, because the article in its entirety has been presented with the request. If there are sections which do not contain actual substitutions, then these should be omitted from the request, as the request should ideally only contain items which are to be altered in some way.

Infobox

[edit]

Please replace "1975; 45 years ago" under Founded in the Infobox with "1980; 40 years ago"[1]

Please remove "& CEO" from Bob Guillocheau under Key people in the Infobox. Please add "David Musto (CEO)"[1] to Key people in the Infobox.


Please replace the text and reference in the first sentence of the article from "Ascensus, LLC., founded in 1975 and based in Dresher, Pennsylvania," to "Ascensus, LLC., founded in 1980 and based in Dresher, Pennsylvania,[1]"


Nfoxson (talk) 13:57, 25 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

References

  1. 1 2 3 "Ascensus | PitchBook". pitchbook.com. Retrieved 2020-02-21.

Reply 25-FEB-2020

[edit]

✅  Edit request implemented    Spintendo  14:08, 25 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

History and ownership

[edit]

Please add "In the first quarter of 2019, Atlas Merchant Capital acquired 25% of the company.[1]" to the end of the second paragraph in History and ownership (which begins with "In 2015, Ascensus was offered for sale").

Please replace "Ascensus was ranked on the Inc. 5000 for 2015 for 93% growth and revenues of $275M" in the last paragraph of the section with "Ascensus was ranked on the Inc. 5000 for 2015 and 2017 for 93% and 65% growth and revenues of $275M and $302M, respectively.[2][3]"

Please remove the first paragraph ("In 2012, Ascensus acquired ExpertPlan, a New Jersey-based firm.") and the third paragraph (which begins with "Ascensus made a series of acquisitions in the fourth quarter of 2016"). The firm has continued making acquisitions, making these points now irrelevant.

Please add "Ascensus was named one of the top five firms most likely to earn new business by plan sponsors looking to switch recordkeepers following a nationwide survey.[4]" to the section.

Please add "Ascensus won the 2018 WEX Partner Excellence Award for significant accomplishments in defining the future of healthcare consumerism and creating progressive solutions.[5]"

Please add "Fund Intelligence awarded Ascensus Retirement Leader of the Year in 2019.[6]"


Nfoxson (talk) 16:49, 25 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

Reply 25-FEB-2020

[edit]

✅  Edit request partially implemented  

  1. Red X The claim regarding Atlas' acquisition of 25% could not be added because the Wikilink for Atlas was not included with the request.
  2. Red X The claim regarding Inc. 5000 could not be added because it was not clear which "rank" the assertion pertains to. Please provide the Wikilink for this rank, either to its own article, or to the section in the Inc. 5000 article which mentions the rank.
  3. Green tick The claims regarding ExpertPlan and the series of acquisitions in 2016 were omitted.
  4. Red X The claims regarding the remaining awards/recognitions were not added because the Wikilinks for these items were not included with the request.

Regards,  Spintendo  17:05, 25 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

History and ownership

[edit]

Please add "In the first quarter of 2019, Atlas Merchant Capital acquired 25% of the company.[1]" to the end of the second paragraph in History and ownership (which begins with "In 2015, Ascensus was offered for sale").

Please replace "Ascensus was ranked on the Inc. 5000 for 2015 for 93% growth and revenues of $275M" in the last paragraph of the section with "Ascensus was ranked on the Inc. 5000 for 2015 and 2017 for 93% and 65% growth and revenues of $275M and $302M, respectively.[2]"

Please add "Ascensus was named one of the top five firms most likely to earn new business by plan sponsors looking to switch recordkeepers following a nationwide survey from Cogent Reports.[3]" to the section.

Please add "Ascensus won the 2018 WEX Partner Excellence Award for significant accomplishments in defining the future of healthcare consumerism and creating progressive solutions.[4]"

Please add "Fund Intelligence awarded Ascensus Retirement Leader of the Year in 2019.[5]"


Nfoxson (talk) 17:50, 25 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

References

Reply 26-FEB-2020

[edit]

  Edit request declined  

  • Red X The claim regarding Atlas was not added to the article because the Wikilink was not provided.
  • Red X The claims regarding the awards and recognitions were not added, as the specific Wikilinks for those items were not included with the request. Please provide the specific Wikilinks for the following:
  1. The Inc. 5000 Rank of Growth and Revenues
  2. The Cogent Firms most likely to earn new business by plan sponsors looking to switch recordkeepers
  3. The WEX Partner Excellence Award
  4. The Fund Intelligence Retirement Leader of the Year award.[a]

Regards,  Spintendo  19:36, 26 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

Notes

  1. ↑ External links are not allowed in articles.

Ownership and accolades

[edit]

Please change the title of this section from "History and ownership" to "Ownership and accolades"

Please add "In the first quarter of 2019, Atlas Merchant Capital acquired 25% of the company.[1]" to the end of the second paragraph in History and ownership (which begins with "In 2015, Ascensus was offered for sale"). Atlas Merchant Capital does not have a wikipedia page, so it cannot have a wikilink

Please replace "Ascensus was ranked on the Inc. 5000 for 2015 for 93% growth and revenues of $275M" in the last paragraph of the section with "Ascensus was ranked on the Inc. 5000 in 2015 and 2017 for 93% and 65% growth and revenues of $275M and $302M, respectively.[2]" Inc. 5000 is the required wikilink to the awards. The companies are ranked according to their growth and revenue.

Please add "Ascensus was named one of the top five firms most likely to earn new business by plan sponsors looking to switch recordkeepers in the nationwide survey Retirement Planscape® by Cogent ReportsTM.[3]" to the section. Neither Retirement Planscape, Cogent Reports, or Escalent (the new name of Cogent Reports) have wikipedia pages, so they cannot have wikilinks.

Please add "Ascensus won the 2018 WEX Partner Excellence Award for significant accomplishments in defining the future of healthcare consumerism and creating progressive solutions.[4]" WEX Inc.'s wikilink is included, but the WEX Partner Excellence Awards does not have a wikipedia page, so the awards cannot have a wikilink.

Please add "Fund Intelligence named Ascensus Retirement Leader of the Year in the 2019 Mutual Fund Industry & ETF Awards.[5]" Fund Intelligence and the Mutual Fund Industry & ETF Awards don't have wikipedia pages, so they can't have wikilinks.


Nfoxson (talk) 14:21, 27 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

References

Reply 27-FEB-2020

[edit]

  Edit request declined  

  • The requested changes cannot be implemented because none of the items listed are notable:
  1. The non-notable company purchasing a quarter of the company is not germane to the article. The article does not already describe the owners of the other 75% of the company. If that information is not relevant, than neither is this information.
  2. The awards are not notable. By their very nature, awards can be subjective, in that they represent a very specific point of view: that of the individual or organization which determines who wins the award and why. To counter this, a good practice is to limit the listing of awards to only those which are independently notable in Wikipedia.

Regards,  Spintendo  18:40, 27 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

Organization

[edit]

In the Organization section, please replace “As of 2018” with “As of 2019.” Please replace “2,400 employees nationwide” with “3,700 emplyees nationwide.[1]” This is the only place where the employee count is publicly reported. Please also change “2,400 (2018)” under Number of employees in the Infobox with “3,700 (2019)”

Please replace “In 2014, the company reorganized into two business divisions, one serving government savings and one serving retirement savings. Shannon Kelly is head of the retirement division and Kevin Cox is head of the government savings division.” With “Ascensus has four key divisions. The divisions are under the oversight of Bob Guillocheau, chairman, along with David Musto, president and CEO of Ascensus. Shannon Kelly is the head of the Retirement division, Kevin Cox is the head of the Government Savings division, Jerry Bramlett is the head of FuturePlan by Ascensus, and Barb Yearout is the head of the Health and Benefits division.[2]” as the firm has reorganized recently.


Nfoxson (talk) 20:25, 27 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

References

  1. ↑ “Our Story”. www2.ascensus.com. Retrieved 2020-02-25.
  2. ↑ This reference should be the same as the first reference in the article

Reply 27-FEB-2020

[edit]

✅  Edit request partially implemented  

  1. Green tick The employee count has been updated.
  2. Red X The Organization section has been omitted from the article. How the company organizes itself, and its myriad of sectional divides (from one division to two, and then from two divisions to four) are not encyclopedic in value to anyone outside of the company. This is information best given by the company itself on their website, a link to which is provided to the reader through the infobox and External links section.

Regards,  Spintendo  22:48, 27 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

Summary

[edit]

Please replace “is the largest independent retirement and college savings services provider in the United States” in the first sentence of the article with “is the largest independent recordkeeping services provider for retirement, government, and health savings plans in the United States.” as the firm has expanded its services.

Please remove “with more than $163 billion in assets under administration. The firm also offers administration, education, and compliance services to banking institutions (offering health savings accounts and IRAs).” and its references, as this is not a publicly reported number and both of these are out of date.

Please add “FuturePlan by Ascensus, the firm’s third-party administration division (TPA) for retirement plans, is the largest retirement TPA in the U.S.[1]" right before “Ascensus is a NAFCU (National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions)”

Please add "for the document, compliance, IRA, and health savings account (HSA) administrative services and technology it offers banks and credit unions across the nation." right after "Ascensus is a NAFCU (National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions)” and move the fifth reference (currently at the end of that sentence that leads to NAFCU.org) to the end of this sentence.

Please make "NAFCU (National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions)" a wikilink to NAFCU (National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions)


Nfoxson (talk) 15:21, 28 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

Reply 28-FEB-2020

[edit]

Below you will see where proposals from your request have been quoted with reviewer decisions and feedback inserted underneath, either accepting, declining or otherwise commenting upon your proposal(s). Please read the enclosed notes within the proposal review section below for information on each request.  Spintendo  16:34, 28 February 2020 (UTC)Reply

Summary

[edit]

Please replace “is a college savings services provider in the United States” in the first sentence of the article with “is the largest recordkeeping services provider for retirement, government, and health savings plans in the United States.[1]” as the firm has expanded its services.

Please replace “The company is a NAFCU (National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions) Preferred Partner.” with “The company is a NAFCU (National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions) Preferred Partner for the document, compliance, IRA, and health savings account (HSA) administrative services and technology it offers banks and credit unions across the nation.[2]” to be more specific.

Please remove “Ascensus provides record-keeping, administrative, and program management services.” as this is made redundant by the first sentence.


Nfoxson (talk) 18:23, 2 March 2020 (UTC)Reply

Riabiz states that it uses sourced journalism and editorial analysis.... Owing to Wikipedia's restriction on using editorials, this would not be the best source to use for this claim.
The proposal does not state what it is — about adding descriptions of the preferred partner as being for document, compliance, IRA and HSA services and technology — that makes that claim statement describing the company as a NAFCU preferred partner more accurate. Please advise.  Spintendo  18:46, 2 March 2020 (UTC)Reply


Reply 04-MAR-2020

[edit]

Please replace “is a college savings services provider in the United States” in the first sentence of the article with “is a recordkeeping services provider for retirement, government, and health savings plans in the United States.” as the firm has expanded its services.

Please replace “The company is a NAFCU (National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions) Preferred Partner.” with “The company is a NAFCU (National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions) Preferred Partner for the document, compliance, IRA, and health savings account (HSA) administrative services and technology it offers banks and credit unions across the nation.[1]” to specify which of the Preferred Partner categories the firm falls into.

Please remove “Ascensus provides record-keeping, administrative, and program management services.” (the second to last sentence in the paragraph) as this is made redundant by the first sentence.


Nfoxson (talk) 14:13, 4 March 2020 (UTC)Reply

The lead has been changed to state savings plan services provider, as the bulk of the plans offered, be it college, retirement or health all have to do with savings. That terminology should cover it. The point about NAFCU was moved to the history section. The fact that the company chose to align with this trade association does not explain any better what the company does; the company would not suddenly cease being a savings plan services provider if it happened to disassociate itself from that trade association — meaning, it doesn't seem like a defining characteristic. Of course, I'm open to discussion about this point. Please advise. Regards,  Spintendo  16:23, 4 March 2020 (UTC)Reply

Retirement Savings

[edit]

Please replace "servicing more than 54,000 retirement plans" and its reference in the first sentence of the section with "servicing more than 116,800 retirement plans[1]" as this number is extremely outdated.

In the first sentence of the second paragraph, please make "Oregon Retirement Savings Plan" a wikilink to Oregon Retirement Savings Plan.

Please remove "and is being gradually rolled out to employers" from the end of the second paragraph, as this wording is now outdated.

Please add "Ascensus was also chosen to manage Illinois’ retirement savings program, Secure Choice, in July 2017. Secure Choice was launched in phases in 2018 and 2019. The program is expected to cover 1.2 million workers.[2]" to the section.

Please add "In August 2018, it was announced that Ascensus would administer California’s retirement savings program, CalSavers. In July of 2019, California began offering 7 million workers the opportunity to contribute to an IRA through CalSavers.[3]" to the section.


Nfoxson (talk) 18:28, 4 March 2020 (UTC)Reply

References

  1. ↑ "About Ascensus". mybusiness.ascensus.com. Retrieved 2020-03-04.
  2. ↑ "Illinois Secure Choice Board Selects Ascensus to Manage Retirement Savings Program | Office of Illinois State Treasurer". Retrieved 2020-03-04.
  3. ↑ "CalSavers". www.calsavers.com. Retrieved 2020-03-04.

Reply 4-MAR-2020

[edit]

✅  Edit request partially implemented  

  1. Green tick The number of retirement plans was updated to an approximate.
  2. Green tick The Wikilink to OregonSaves was added as requested.
  3. Red X The claim regarding Secure Choice could not be added because the Wikilink for Secure Choice was not provided with the request.
  4. Red X The claim regarding CalSavers could not be added because the Wikilink for CalSavers was not provided with the request.

Regards,  Spintendo  22:26, 4 March 2020 (UTC)Reply


Reply 5-MAR-2020

[edit]

✅  Edit request partially implemented   Secure Choice does not have a Wikipedia page so it cannot have a wikilink.

CalSavers does not have a Wikipedia page so it cannot have a wikilink.

Nfoxson (talk) 13:15, 5 March 2020 (UTC)Reply

Reply 10-MAR-2020

[edit]

@Nfoxson:

Supplementary request #1 has been  Done

Supplementary request #2 has been Denied because it does not clearly state Ascensus to administer CalSavers.

To reply, copy and paste this: {{replyto|Can I Log In}}(Talk) 23:47, 10 March 2020 (UTC)Reply


Reply 11-MAR-2020

[edit]

@Can I Log In: Can you please change the citation on my request to "In August 2018, it was announced that Ascensus would administer California’s retirement savings program, CalSavers. In July of 2019, California began offering 7 million workers the opportunity to contribute to an IRA through CalSavers.[1]"


Nfoxson (talk) 12:36, 11 March 2020 (UTC)Reply

References

  1. ↑ "CALSAVERS LAUNCH COULD TOUCH THOUSANDS OF LOCAL EMPLOYERS". thebusinessjournal.com. Retireved 2020-03-11.

Reply 12-MAR-2020

[edit]

 Done: In sentence 2 about the statement of 7 million workers was not supported by the reference. However, I've found a supplemental reference. Also. the source does not explicitly state the date, so I also found another reference to support that.

At this point, everything should be okay.To reply, copy and paste this: {{replyto|Can I Log In}}(Talk) 01:09, 12 March 2020 (UTC)Reply

Government Savings

[edit]

Please change the section name from "College savings" to "Government Savings"

Please change the end of the second sentence in the section from "the formation of its Ascensus Government Savings division" to "the formation of its Government Savings division" to make it grammatically correct.

Please change "The company also manages Ugift, its third-party giving program allowing family and friends to transfer money into 529 plans." (the last sentence of the first paragraph) to "The company also manages Ugift, its third-party giving program that allows family and friends to help contribute to beneficiaries' 529 and ABLE accounts.[1]" as the platform has since expanded its services. Please add this reference (mainly for the footer on the website) in addition to the existing reference on the sentence.

Please add "Ascensus supports 21 ABLE (Achieving a Better Life Experience) plans across 19 states and the District of Columbia[2], including the National ABLE Alliance, the nation’s largest multi-state agreement. The 14-state partnership program enables residents to make investments to help disabled or blind citizens save for the future.[3]" to the section and please remove the "Savings for individuals with disabilities" section below this one, as Ascensus's College Savings division has become Government Savings, which included ABLE plans.

Nfoxson (talk) 13:30, 12 March 2020 (UTC)Reply

References

  1. ↑ "Uift". ugift529.com. Retrieved 2020-03-12.
  2. ↑ "Start Saving With ABLE | Ascensus". www2.ascensus.com. Retrieved 2020-03-12.
  3. ↑ "ABLE investment program to help residents with disabilities". WAND 17. Retrieved 2017-05-12.

Reply 19-MAR-2020

[edit]

✅  Edit request partially implemented  

  1. Green tick The word Ascencus was removed from the end of the second sentence of the College savings section.
  2. Red X The request does not state what it is, about the description of the transfer of money into 529 plans, that is deficient when explaining that these plans "help contribute to beneficiaries' 529 and ABLE accounts".
  3. Red X With regards to please remove the "Savings for individuals with disabilities" section below this one, that request cannot be reviewed because the verbatim text to be removed has not been included with the request.[1]

Regards,  Spintendo  13:16, 19 March 2020 (UTC)Reply

References

  1. ↑ "Template:Request edit". Wikipedia. 30 December 2019. Instructions for Submitters: Describe the requested changes in detail. This includes the exact proposed wording of the new material, the exact proposed location for it, and an explicit description of any wording to be removed, including removal for any substitution.


Infobox

[edit]

{{edit COI|D|no response}

Please add the following categories to the Products section in the Infobox: "ABLE accounts; flexible spending accounts; health reimbursement accounts; state-facilitated retirement plans". A wiki page for "state-facilitated retirement plans" does not currently exist.


Emilyschroeder (talk) 19:34, 24 March 2020 (UTC)Reply

Reply 24-MAR-2020

[edit]

🔼  Clarification requested  

  1. With regards to the financials, please provide a reference which verifies those numbers.
  2. With regards to the |products= parameter, it's helpful for the reader to have those terms Wikilinked, if you could provide them it would be much appreciated.
  • When ready to proceed with the requested information, kindly change the {{request edit}} template's answer parameter to read from |ans=yes to |ans=no. Thank you!

Regards,  Spintendo  20:09, 24 March 2020 (UTC)Reply

Summary

[edit]

Please change "is a savings plan services provider in the United States." in the first sentence to "is one of the largest independent recordkeeping services provider for retirement, government, and health savings plans in the United States, with more than $262 billion[1] in assets under administration."

Please remove the following sentence: "Ascensus also provides record-keeping, administrative, and program management services."

Please add the following before the last sentence ("The company does not offer investment advice."): "The firm expanded into the health benefits administration space through the acquisition of Chard Snyder Benefit Solutions in 2018[2]. FuturePlan by Ascensus, the firm’s third-party administration (TPA) line of business, is the largest retirement TPA in the U.S.[3]. Ascensus is a NAFCU (National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions) Preferred Partner for the document, compliance, IRA, and health savings account (HSA) administrative services and technology it offers to banks and credit unions across the nation[4]."

Please change the word "company" in the last sentence ("The company does not offer investment advice.") to "firm", as Ascensus is frequently referenced as such.

Emilyschroeder (talk) 18:54, 26 March 2020 (UTC)Reply

Emilyschroeder, thank you for using the request edit process. Please read about neutrality. This as an encyclopaedia, not an advertising platform, so we are not going to add any promotional content (such as that you propose) here. Oh, and www.prnewswire.com is a press-release platform, nothing there is useable as a source in Wikipedia. Justlettersandnumbers (talk) 23:10, 19 April 2020 (UTC)Reply

Summary

[edit]

Please change "Ascensus, LLC. is an American financial services company," in the first sentence to "Ascensus, LLC. is an independent recordkeeping services provider for retirement, government, and health savings plans in the United States, with more than $262 billion[1] in assets under administration."

Please remove the following sentence: "It offers savings plans of various kinds."

Please add the following before the last sentence ("It was founded in 1980; the head office is in Dresher, Pennsylvania."): "The firm expanded into the health benefits administration space through the acquisition of Chard Snyder Benefit Solutions in 2018[2]. FuturePlan by Ascensus is the firm’s third-party administration (TPA) line of business. Ascensus is a NAFCU (National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions) Preferred Partner for the document, compliance, IRA, and health savings account (HSA) administrative services and technology it offers to banks and credit unions across the nation[3]."

Emilyschroeder (talk) 14:03, 9 June 2020 (UTC)Reply

 Done your edit request has been done. Trains2050 (talk) 15:25, 9 June 2020 (UTC)Reply

Infobox

[edit]

Please add the following categories to the Products section in the Infobox: "ABLE accounts; flexible spending accounts; health reimbursement accounts; state-facilitated retirement plans". A wiki page for "state-facilitated retirement plans" does not currently exist.

Emilyschroeder (talk) 14:06, 9 June 2020 (UTC)Reply


 Not done hello @Emilyschroeder: the proposed edit has no sources so it can not be done. many thanks Trains2050 (talk) 15:03, 9 June 2020 (UTC)Reply

Summary

[edit]

Please change the first sentence to say, "Ascensus, founded in 1980[1] and based in Dresher, Pennsylvania[2], is an independent recordkeeping services provider for retirement, government, and health savings plans in the United States, with more than $262 billion[2] in assets under administration." I think this will read better.

To avoid repetition, please delete the last sentence,"It was founded in 1980; the head office is in Dresher, Pennsylvania."

Also, can you please delete the quotation marks at the beginning of the second sentence? It currently looks like this: "The firm expanded into the health benefits administration space through the acquisition of Chard Snyder Benefit Solutions in 2018.

Emilyschroeder (talk) 15:53, 9 June 2020 (UTC)Reply

References

  1. ↑ "Ascensus | NYBA". www.nyba.com. Retrieved 2016-08-19.
  2. ↑ "Servant leadership in a financial crisis". Retrieved 2016-08-19.

@Emilyschroeder:  Done your request has been done. Trains2050 (talk) 16:34, 9 June 2020 (UTC)Reply

Summary

[edit]

This section was edited, but then somehow reverted back to how it was a few edits ago. The following was previously approved & posted before being subsequently deleted:

"Ascensus, founded in 1980[1] and based in Dresher, Pennsylvania[2], is an independent recordkeeping services provider for retirement, government, and health savings plans in the United States, with more than $262 billion[3] in assets under administration. In 2018, the firm expanded into the health benefits administration space through the acquisition of Chard Snyder Benefit Solutions[4]. Additionally, FuturePlan by Ascensus is the firm’s third-party administration (TPA) line of business. Ascensus is a NAFCU (National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions) Preferred Partner for the document, compliance, IRA, and health savings account (HSA) administrative services and technology it offers to banks and credit unions across the nation[5]."

Can this please be readjusted to reflect the previously approved edits?

Emilyschroeder (talk) 17:28, 9 June 2020 (UTC)Reply

@Emilyschroeder: i have reviewed the page history and I saw that a user edited because he thought it was better before, i am not going to edit it again but i suggest having a discussion in the article's talk page. PS: i suggest not to request anymore changes until the issue has been resolved. Trains2050 (talk) 17:49, 9 June 2020 (UTC)Reply

References

  1. ↑ "Ascensus | NYBA". www.nyba.com. Retrieved 2016-08-19.
  2. ↑ "Servant leadership in a financial crisis". Retrieved 2016-08-19.
  3. ↑ "Ascensus to acquire third-party administrator Pension Strategies | Pensions & Investments". www.pionline.com. Retrieved 2020-03-26.
  4. ↑ “One of Greater Cincinnati's largest women-owned firms to be sold | Cincinnatti Business Courier”. www.bizjournals.com. Retrieved 2020-03-13.
  5. ↑ "Ascensus | NAFCU".www.nafcu.org. Retrieved 2020-03-26.

Recent updates and figures

[edit]

Hello. I think this article could use some updating with recent news and 2026 figures. I would appreciate the community’s input on the following:

  • In the infobox, the key people need to be updated with their new titles and a reversed order. Nick Good is now the CEO and David Musto is the Executive Chairman.[1][2]
  • In the lead, the number of accounts and assets under administration should be updated to 2026 numbers:
As of 2026, Ascensus serves more than 16 million people and oversees more than $913 billion in assets under administration.[3]
  • In the history section, the following should be added:
In January 2026, Ascensus announced that it had surpassed $300 billion in total 529 plan assets under administration, serving more than 8.5 million accounts.[4] The company also announced an agreement to acquire AmericanTCS, a provider of retirement, trust and custody, and technology automation solutions.[5]

References

  1. ↑ Rueda, Edward (October 8, 2025). "Ascensus Names Nick Good as CEO". planadvisor.
  2. ↑ "Our Leadership". Ascensus.
  3. ↑ "Ascensus Strengthens Retirement Leadership Team to Accelerate Growth". Ascensus. May 19, 2026.
  4. ↑ Umpierrez, Amanda (January 20, 2026). "Ascensus Hits $300B in 529 Assets". 401(k) Specialist.
  5. ↑ Randall, Steve (May 11, 2026). "Ascensus broadens retirement technology capabilities with AmericanTCS acquisition". InvestmentNews.

I am happy to answer any questions or discuss further. Thanks HemlockHiker (talk) 14:16, 17 July 2026 (UTC)Reply

 Done —⁠ ⁠BarrelProof (talk) 23:49, 27 July 2026 (UTC)Reply
Hi BarrelProof, thank you for your help! Looking again at the "History and ownership" section, I realized that there may be a few other, older events that are missing. I will do some research and come back with a new request if I find anything worth adding here. HemlockHiker (talk) 19:21, 28 July 2026 (UTC)Reply

History and ownership section

[edit]

Hi, I looked a bit deeper into the "History and ownership" section, and there are a few noteworthy events that I think should be added, as well as a few places the language and sourcing could be strengthened for accuracy.

  • The last sentence of the second paragraph, about NAFCU, should be removed. This has never been true, and the source does not support the content.
  • I recommend moving the sentence about the planned IPO to the beginning of the 3rd paragraph and adding a source to the content about the sale to Stone Point Capital. I suggest rewording as follows:
In 2020, Ascensus announced plans for a potential IPO.[1] In 2021, Ascensus was sold by Genstar Capital and Aquiline Capital Partners to Stone Point Capital LLC and GIC.[2]
  • I also recommend adding the following to the section chronologically:
In April 2022, Ascensus acquired Newport Group, a provider of nonqualified retirement plans and record-keeping services.[3][4] Newport Group now operates under the name "Newport, an Ascensus company."[5]
In 2024, Ascensus announced their acquisition of Mutual of Omaha's 401(k) recordkeeping business after having provided outsourced retirement services to the firm for over two decades.[6] That year, the company also sold their ESOP business to Principal Financial Group.[7]
  • The acquisition of AmericanTCS was also just finalized, so the last sentence of the section can be updated to reflect that.
The company also announced an agreement to acquire acquired AmericanTCS, a provider of retirement, trust and custody, and technology automation solutions.[8][9]

References

  1. ↑ French, David; Roumeliotis, Greg (October 2, 2020). "Savings provider Ascensus prepares for mid-2021 IPO - sources". Reuters.
  2. ↑ Monks, Matthew (April 25, 2021). "Stone Point and GIC Near $3 Billion Deal for Ascensus". Bloomberg News.
  3. ↑ Barstein, Fred (November 8, 2021). "What Ascensus purchase of Newport Group means for advisers". InvestmentNews.
  4. ↑ "Ascensus Closes Newport Merger Agreement" (Press release). PR Newswire. April 8, 2022.
  5. ↑ "Ascensus Names Industry Veteran Michael Dunn to Lead Newport Business" (Press release). Ascensus. August 20, 2024.
  6. ↑ Ortolani, Alex (March 27, 2024). "Ascensus to Acquire Mutual of Omaha's 401(k) Business". PlanAdviser.
  7. ↑ Ortolani, Alex (May 20, 2024). "Acquisition from Ascensus Will Expand Principal's ESOP Business". PlanSponsor.
  8. ↑ "Ascensus Completes AmericanTCS Acquisition to Expand Retirement and Trust Services Platform". citybiz. August 5, 2026.
  9. ↑ Cavanagh, Cassidy (August 5, 2026). "Ascensus Purchases AmericanTCS". Mergers & Acquisitions.

I am pinging BarrelProof who was so helpful with my last request. As always, I am happy to discuss further or answer any questions. HemlockHiker (talk) 14:01, 14 August 2026 (UTC)Reply

The first bullet point in this request does not seem to be correct. The cited source, when it was online in 2015 () says "Ascensus, the NAFCU Services Preferred Partner for IRA, Retirement Plan and Health Savings Account (HSA) solutions". -- Beland (talk) 01:26, 27 August 2026 (UTC)Reply
Hi Beland thank you so much for taking a look at this. My apologies for any miscommunication. I work for Ascensus and I know that the company was never a member of NAFCU, it just did a couple sponsored events like a webinar, though I don't have a source to prove the negative. Looking at the archived webpage you found, would you be ok with updating the wording to, At one time, Ascensus was listed by the National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions as a "Preferred Partner" so that it does not imply a legal partnership?
Let me know if you have any questions about the rest of my request. I would be grateful for your input, or that of another editor. With approval, I am also happy to implement changes myself to save time. Thanks! HemlockHiker (talk) 13:14, 8 September 2026 (UTC)Reply
No, I would not be OK with that, and you should not implement your own suggestions. -- Beland (talk) 14:42, 8 September 2026 (UTC)Reply
I did add a date to that claim, and ended up rephrasing it. -- Beland (talk) Beland (talk) 14:58, 8 September 2026 (UTC)Reply
I have implemented the second bullet point, more or less, and will check the others later. -- Beland (talk) 15:46, 8 September 2026 (UTC)Reply
Hi Beland, thank you for taking a second look at this. I noticed that you added Atlas Merchant Capital as a buyer in the Stone Point deal, but they were actually a seller. The cited Bloomberg source may have been a bit unclear, so I added the quote below and here is a corroborating press release
The investment firms (Stone Point Capital and GIC Pte) are buying the company from backers including Genstar Capital, Aquiline Capital Partners and Atlas Merchant Capital
When you, or another editor, also have a chance to look over bullets 3 and 4, I would be grateful. Thanks, HemlockHiker (talk) 13:04, 15 September 2026 (UTC)Reply
2021 transaction fixed. -- Beland (talk) 14:28, 15 September 2026 (UTC)Reply
Info from the 3rd and 4th bullet points added. -- Beland (talk) 14:42, 15 September 2026 (UTC)Reply
Hi Beland, thank you for making all of these updates. Just one last thing, it was Genstar Capital and Aquiline Capital Partners that retained a minority stake, not Atlas. The cited Bloomberg source says, "Genstar and Aquiline are keeping a minority stake." I appreciate all your work on this, HemlockHiker (talk) 20:25, 24 September 2026 (UTC)Reply